The Program

That year the Giro began in Greece, spent three days there before making a ferry crossing to Brindisi, and the police plan was to arrive as the team cars were coming off the ferry. 'Here we were,' said Gori, 'driving from here to ...

Author: David Walsh

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781471155628

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 464

View: 749

Download →

The tie-in edition of the stunning new film, directed by Stephen Frears and starring Chris O'Dowd (Moone Boy, The IT Crowd) as David Walsh and Ben Foster (3.10 to Yuma) as Lance Armstrong. This book, previously published as Seven Deadly Sins, tells the thrilling story of Walsh's thirteen-year quest to prove that the world's most famous cancer survivor and cycling superstar Lance Armstrong had built his reputation on a lie. From Armstrong's first Tour win in 1999, Walsh was one of very few to question what we were seeing and, in his search for the truth, he was dubbed a 'troll' by the Texan cyclist and found himself ostracised by those who didn't want to upset the narrative that Armstrong seemed to present to a sport in urgent need of renewal. Eventually, thanks in large part to Walsh's persistence, Armstrong was stripped of his titles, banned for life from the sport and forced into admitting to Oprah that he had, after all, been doping and that his seven Tour de France victories were little more than his seven deadly sins. It was one of the biggest sporting stories of the century, and the tale of how it came about is now the basis of a wonderful film.

Related Books

The Guilt of the Night People
Language: en
Pages: 804
Authors: Mizpa Mijam Ratliff
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-09-01 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

Follow the heart-breaking tale of a young midwife, Siuntla, hardly more than a child herself when she is Outcast by her own People on their planet of origin, Kiwa, for saving one of the infants in a twin birth which Village Elders are certain may bring the community bad luck.
A Practical Hindústání Grammar
Language: en
Pages: 260
Authors: Sir Monier Monier-Williams
Categories: Hindustani language
Type: BOOK - Published: 1873 - Publisher:

Books about A Practical Hindústání Grammar
Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Élmer Mendoza
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-02-08 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Perfect for fans of Mick Herron and John Le Carré "The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years" Gaby Wood, Sunday Telegraph. It's Christmas in Culiacán and Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta can't believe his luck. An old flame has returned with a teenage son
Learning to Love
Language: en
Pages: 153
Authors: Raksha Pande
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-19 - Publisher: Rutgers University Press

Learning to Love moves beyond the media and policy stereotypes that conflate arranged marriages with forced marriages. Using in-depth interviews and participant observations, this book assembles a rich and diverse array of everyday marriage narratives and trajectories and highlights how considerations of romantic love are woven into traditional arranged marriage
The Women's Missionary Magazine of the United Free Church of Scotland
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Raksha Pande
Categories: Missions, Scottish
Type: BOOK - Published: 1907 - Publisher:

Books about The Women's Missionary Magazine of the United Free Church of Scotland