A Good Enough Mother

“His theory about the 'good enough mother' would be something to have a look at,” I said, but she screwed up her face. “I see it everywhere,” she groaned, “almost every magazine article I pick up—good enough parent . . . good enough ...

Author: Bev Thomas

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780525561262

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 875

Download →

"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train "Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." --Booklist A riveting page-turner that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control. . . Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return. Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality.... An utterly compelling drama with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.

Related Books

A Good Enough Mother
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Bev Thomas
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-04-30 - Publisher: Penguin

"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train "Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." --Booklist
Parental Substance Misuse and Child Welfare
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Brynna Kroll, Andy Taylor
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003 - Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers

Focusing on the needs of children of substance misusing parents and the dilemmas faced by professionals working with them, this comprehensive book brings together for the first time theoretical and practice issues for all those involved with the crossover between responses to drug and alcohol problems and child welfare. Describing
Handbook of Stressful Transitions Across the Lifespan
Language: en
Pages: 691
Authors: Thomas W. Miller
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-11-28 - Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

This volume provides a unique and valuable contribution to our understanding of the impact of stressful life events and mass trauma on the person, the culture and society in the course of the life span. It provides a comprehensive look at our psychological state of affairs at the beginning of
Cutting Loose
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Howard Halpern
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990-04-15 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

With more than thirty-five years of experience in psychotherapy, Dr. Halpern enables the adult child to understand his or her parent and foster a positive, healthy adult relationship. In all respects, you appear to be well-adjusted, reasonably successful adult, but in the presence of your parents, you feel vulnerable, dependent,
Health Visiting
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Anne Robotham, Marion Frost
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005 - Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

This book is an essential resource for health visiting students that reflects the key changes required of health visiting practice at the beginning of the new millennium. It is a key text for specialist practitioner programmes and also for existing practitioners who are furthering their practice and academic development. It