How England Made the English

Before picking out what the English look is, we must distinguish between the two most powerful forces behind it: natural force and manmade force. Natural forces created the first layer of modern England – the mountains, hills, rivers, ...

Author: Harry Mount

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9780670919154

Category: History

Page: 368

View: 372

Download →

Harry Mount's How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories. Q. Why are English train seats so narrow? A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots. For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather. You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow. Praise for Harry Mount: 'Highly readable, encyclopeadic, marvellous, illuminating. Mount portrays England via dextrous excavations of its geography, geology, history and weather' Independent 'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion' Daily Mail 'Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed' Guardian Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London.

Related Books

How England Made the English
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Harry Mount
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-05-31 - Publisher: Penguin UK

Harry Mount's How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories. Q. Why are English train seats so narrow? A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built
England: A Class of Its Own
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Detlev Piltz
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-04-14 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

For years German lawyer and author Detlev Piltz has been observing England, its life, customs and above all its classes. He argues that whenever an English person meets another, they will immediately try and place the individual they are talking to in a class by their speech, deportment, clothing, address
Good for Society
Language: en
Pages: 644
Authors: Martin Parsons
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-02-20 - Publisher: WestBow Press

Good for Society: Christian Values and Conservative Politics In ‘Good for Society’ Martin Parsons has written a book well worthy of its sub title ‘Christian Values and Conservative Politics.’. Good for Society is a robust defence of both our Christian heritage and the Conservative Party. Rt Hon Lord Tebbit CH,
Rick Steves England
Language: en
Pages: 1028
Authors: Rick Steves
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-17 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Hike the wild moors of Dartmoor, explore the scenic bays of Cornwall, and dive into history at Hadrian's Wall: England is yours to discover with Rick Steves! Inside Rick Steves England you'll find: Comprehensive coverage for spending two weeks or more in England Rick's strategic advice on how to get
The Last Wolf
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Robert Winder
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-08-03 - Publisher: Hachette UK

It is often assumed that the national identity must be a matter of values and ideas. But in Robert Winder's brilliantly-written account it is a land built on a lucky set of natural ingredients: the island setting that made it maritime; the rain that fed the grass that nourished the