Let s Talk about Death over Dinner

These are the conversations that will help us to evolve.' Let's Talk About Death (over Dinner) offers keen practical advice on how to have these same conversations - not just at the dinner table, but anywhere.

Author: Michael Hebb

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781841883014

Category: Self-Help

Page: 256

View: 653

Download →

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed co-founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation Of the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death - and not just the practical considerations, such as DNRs and wills, but what we fear, what we hope, and how we want to be remembered. Yet few of these conversations are actually happening. Inspired by his experience with his own father and countless stories from others who regret not having these conversations, Michael Hebb cofounded Death Over Dinner - an organisation that encourages people to pull up a chair, break bread, and really talk about the one thing we all have in common. Death Over Dinner has been one of the most effective end-of-life awareness campaigns to date; in just three years, it has provided the framework and inspiration for more than a hundred thousand dinners focused on having these end-of-life conversations. As Arianna Huffington said, 'We are such a fast-food culture, I love the idea of making the dinner last for hours. These are the conversations that will help us to evolve.' Let's Talk About Death (over Dinner) offers keen practical advice on how to have these same conversations - not just at the dinner table, but anywhere. There's no one right way to talk about death, but Hebb shares time- and dinner-tested prompts to use as conversation starters, ranging from the spiritual to the practical, from analytical to downright funny and surprising. By transforming the most difficult conversations into an opportunity, they become celebratory and meaningful - ways that not only can change the way we die, but the way we live.

Related Books

Let’s Talk about Death (over Dinner)
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Michael Hebb
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-04 - Publisher: Hachette UK

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed co-founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation Of the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death
Let's Talk about Death (over Dinner)
Language: en
Pages: 165
Authors: Michael Hebb
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018 - Publisher:

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation Of the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death'and
Remix Judaism
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Roberta Rosenthal Kwall
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-02-25 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

Remix Judaism: Preserving Tradition in a Diverse World offers an eloquent and thoughtful new vision for all Jews seeking a sense of belonging in a changing world, regardless of their current level of observance. Kwall sets out a process of selection, rejection, and modification of rituals that allow for a
Family Communication at the End of Life
Language: en
Pages: 164
Authors: Maureen P. Keeley
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-23 - Publisher: MDPI

This book is a printed edition of the Special Issue "Family Communication at the End of Life" that was published in Behavioral Sciences
Awakened by Death
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: Christiana N. Peterson
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-27 - Publisher: Broadleaf Books

Fear of death is nearly as inevitable as death itself, so we have used modern medicine and the funeral industry to create an ever-increasing distance between us and our mortality. But these interventions have stripped death of its mystery and mysticism. Taking readers on a journey through history, guided by