Mothering Sunday

The gallery was getting busy, but then again it was Mothering Sunday. A Japanese couple were sitting on the end of the large leather bench. She and her mother went and sat on the other end. Ally waited while her mother rooted around in ...

Author: Sara James

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781398704107

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 649

Download →

'A tender and heart-breaking story with a shocking family secret at its centre...I was weeping happy tears at the end' Saskia Sarginson One crisp and bright Mothering Sunday, Alexandra Abbott's now elderly mother, Elizabeth, reveals a secret that she has kept buried for over 50 years... April 1963: Aspiring artist Kitty Campbell has recently given birth to her first child in a mother and baby home. Kitty is to give her baby away for adoption but, when the day comes, she can't bring herself to part with her tiny daughter. In desperation, Kitty flees. She stops at a tea shop to feed her hungry baby and meets the owner, Bet - a mother with her own heartache to bear. But Bet is kind to Kitty, holding the baby and offering a listening ear. Then Kitty makes a decision that will change all their lives for ever. Several decades later, can the truth from that day finally right the past and bring a mother and daughter together? A heart-rending family drama perfect for fans of Fern Britten, Rachel Hore and Dilly Court. "Full of insight and wisdom, Mothering Sunday is an inspirational story with uplifting messages about family love, belonging and second chances... the perfect gift for your own special mum" Lancashire Post

Related Books

Mothering Sunday
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Sara James
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-01 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'A tender and heart-breaking story with a shocking family secret at its centre...I was weeping happy tears at the end' Saskia Sarginson One crisp and bright Mothering Sunday, Alexandra Abbott's now elderly mother, Elizabeth, reveals a secret that she has kept buried for over 50 years... April 1963: Aspiring artist
Mothering Sunday
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Noel Streatfeild
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-09-06 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Seventy-year-old widowed Anna Caldwell likes to be alone, happy to potter around her garden chatting to her friend Miss Poe. However, the bliss of Anna’s peaceful lifestyle causes her five children much dismay. Jane, the eldest and most organised, gathers her siblings together to visit Anna on Mothering Sunday. Henry
A Book of Feasts and Seasons
Language: en
Pages: 193
Authors: Joanna Bogle
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 1992 - Publisher: Gracewing Publishing

"A Book of Feasts and Seasons" recaptures the lost traditions surrounding major feasts and festivals--every occasion of the Christian Year.
Leading Intercessions
Language: en
Pages: 158
Authors: John Pritchard
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005-08 - Publisher: Liturgical Press

Leading Intercessions is a resource for individuals and groups involved in the important task of leading prayers in public worship. This user-friendly handbook covers a rich and broad spectrum 'from traditional services, to worship with children and young people, to group prayer, to personal devotions. Each section begins with practical
A short history of Mothering Sunday
Language: en
Pages: 11
Authors: Constance Penswick Smith
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 1926 - Publisher:

Books about A short history of Mothering Sunday