Sheer Abandon

I have been bothering even more people than usual in my quest for background information for Sheer Abandon; writing this long thank you makes me realise what a large landscape the book covers. Beginning at the beginning, a big thank you ...

Author: Penny Vincenzi

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755351558

Category: Fiction

Page: 736

View: 662

Download →

An abandoned baby girl, a secret, the story of survival - Penny Vincenzi's SHEER ABANDON is the story of one desperate act, and the consequences that follow... 'Like a glass of champagne: bubbly, moreish and you don't want it to end' Daily Express Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Buchan, Jilly Cooper or Santa Montefiore One night in 1986 an abandoned baby girl is found in a cupboard at Heathrow airport. A year earlier Martha, Clio and Jocasta had met by chance, at the start of a backpacking adventure: they travelled together briefly and then went their own ways, swearing to meet again when they return home. But it would be a long time until they met again: not until Kate, the foundling, is a teenager, and all three are leading successful lives. Martha is a single, highly paid lawyer, Clio a doctor, locked in an unhappy marriage, and Jocasta a reporter, in love with a charming commitment-phobe. Which of them is Kate's mother? Why was she desperate enough to do such a thing, and how did she survive it?

Related Books

Sheer Abandon
Language: en
Pages: 736
Authors: Penny Vincenzi
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-09-04 - Publisher: Hachette UK

An abandoned baby girl, a secret, the story of survival - Penny Vincenzi's SHEER ABANDON is the story of one desperate act, and the consequences that follow... 'Like a glass of champagne: bubbly, moreish and you don't want it to end' Daily Express Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Buchan, Jilly
Fair and Foul
Language: en
Pages: 249
Authors: D. Stanley Eitzen
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

This book explains America's love of sport just as it reveals sport's darker side - the influence of big business, corruption, price gouging, political maneuvering, and media grandstanding.
The Prayer of Jesus
Language: en
Pages: 198
Authors: Kent Gramm
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-01-20 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

This unique phrase-by-phrase exposition reads the Lord's Prayer as Jesus' description of God. Our heavenly Father is the perfect parent beyond our dreams who loves, provides, forgives, and ultimately protects. Finding our parent, we discover who we really are and enter a kingdom without boundaries. The Prayer of Jesus is
AKASHVANI
Language: en
Pages: 80
Authors: All India Radio (AIR), New Delhi
Categories: Antiques & Collectibles
Type: BOOK - Published: 1968-08-18 - Publisher: All India Radio (AIR),New Delhi

"Akashvani" (English) is a programme journal of ALL INDIA RADIO, it was formerly known as The Indian Listener. It used to serve the listener as a bradshaw of broadcasting ,and give listener the useful information in an interesting manner about programmes, who writes them, take part in them and produce
Confucian Role Ethics
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Roger T Ames
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-08-03 - Publisher: The Chinese University of Hong Kong Press

In this landmark work, noted comparative philosopher Roger T. Ames interprets how the classics of the Confucian canon portray the authentic, ethical human being. He argues that many distinguished commentators on Confucian ethics have explained the fundamental ideas and terms of this distinctively Chinese philosophy by superimposing Western concepts and