Unforgiven

I am early because I want to choose the right table: one in a quiet corner of the room, distanced from neighbouring tables. I plan to record Chris's findings on my iPhone and, given the content, I don't want eavesdroppers.

Author: Liz McGregor

Publisher: Jonathan Ball Publishers

ISBN: 9781776191895

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 196

View: 140

Download →

“Liz McGregor has always been a great journalist but only South Africa could have wrung out of her this single-minded account of the murder of her beloved father. The book is an indescribable duty, exquisitely done.” – Peter Bruce “An enthralling account of the journey by a daughter to meet with those convicted of her father’s murder.” – Trevor Manuel A searing, intimate memoir tracing the author’s attempt to find out the truth about her father’s murder. Robin McGregor, an older man who has recently moved into a small town outside Cape Town, is brutally murdered in his home. Cecil Thomas is convicted for the crime, but his trial leaves more questions than answers. As much as his daughter Liz McGregor tries to move beyond her grief – she finds new work, she even discovers love – she still wants answers. What drove Thomas to torture and kill a complete stranger? The author meets the murderer’s family and discovers that he comes from a loving, comfortable home. He is educated and skilled, there is no apparent reason for his descent into delinquency. After protracted obstruction from the prison authorities, she finally gets to confront him but not without putting herself in danger. She finds answers, but not the answers she is looking for. Unforgiven tells a story seldom told: what happens to a family when one of their own is murdered? In a country where, year upon year, tens of thousands of people lose a loved one to violence. Where restorative justice is preached but not practiced. Where prisons are universities of crime. What would it take to achieve redemption? For the victim, the perpetrator and the country?

Related Books

Valentine's Day at the Star and Sixpence (short story)
Language: en
Pages: 75
Authors: Holly Hepburn
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-08 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Part 1.5 (an exclusive, FREE short story sandwiched between parts 1 & 2) in Holly Hepburn's bestselling series, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde. Love is in the air as sisters Nessie and Sam prepare for Valentine's Day at their newly renovated pub, The Star and Sixpence.
Fraser's Magazine for Town and Country
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Holly Hepburn
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1858 - Publisher:

Books about Fraser's Magazine for Town and Country
Killer Focus
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Victoria LK Williams
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06-03 - Publisher: Sun, Sand & Stories Publishing LLC

A pink slip, a birthday card, new neighbors...Piper Avery thought her week was bad-then she found the body on the beach! Piper had no intentions of getting involved, but undercover cop Joel Stevenson, inadvertently challenged her. And, well, she had no choice, did she? Piper and the spaniel Daisy, a
Sensory Evaluation Practices
Language: en
Pages: 446
Authors: Herbert Stone, Rebecca N. Bleibaum, Heather A. Thomas
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-09-01 - Publisher: Academic Press

Understanding what the consumer wants and will accept are two of the most significant hurdles faced by anyone in new product development. Whether the concern is the proper mouth-feel of a potato chip, the sense of freshness" evoked by a chewing gum, or the weight and texture of a cosmetic,
A Future from the Past
Language: en
Pages: 118
Authors: Anthony Williams
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013 - Publisher: Dorrance Publishing

Susan Drayton is an attractive 18 year-old. Her future is promising, and quickly turning out to be full of surprises. The mysterious twist and turns of A Future From the Past begin when she is asked to accompany her employer on business to the locally famous Henbury House. The Henbury