The Reader

An instant New York Times Bestseller, this is a stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of.

Author: Traci Chee

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780147518057

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 466

View: 503

Download →

An instant New York Times Bestseller, this is a stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award! Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible. "I was spellbound from the first page. An utterly transportive tale of swashbucklers and sharpshooters, masterfully written."—Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn "Traci Chee's The Reader Could Be The Next Big YA Fantasy Series"—Bustle.com

Related Books

The Reader
Language: en
Pages: 466
Authors: Traci Chee
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-09-05 - Publisher: Penguin

An instant New York Times Bestseller, this is a stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award! Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father
The Reader
Language: en
Pages: 464
Authors: Traci Chee
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-09-13 - Publisher: Penguin

Instant New York Times Bestseller A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her
The Speaker
Language: en
Pages: 512
Authors: Traci Chee
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-11-07 - Publisher: Penguin

The sequel to the critically-acclaimed New York Times bestselling fantasy The Reader, “highly recommended for fans of Cornelia Funke's Inkheart and female-powered adventures.”—School Library Journal Having barely escaped the clutches of the Guard, Sefia and Archer are back on the run, slipping into the safety of the forest to tend
Beyond the Blockbusters
Language: en
Pages: 254
Authors: Rebekah Fitzsimmons, Casey Alane Wilson
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-15 - Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

Contributions by Megan Brown, Jill Coste, Sara K. Day, Rachel Dean-Ruzicka, Rebekah Fitzsimmons, Amber Gray, Roxanne Harde, Tom Jesse, Heidi Jones, Kaylee Jangula Mootz, Leah Phillips, Rachel L. Rickard Rebellino, S. R. Toliver, Jason Vanfosson, Sarah E. Whitney, and Casey Alane Wilson While critical and popular attention afforded to twenty-first-century
The Speaker
Language: en
Pages: 514
Authors: Traci Chee
Categories: Adventure stories
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017 - Publisher: Penguin

"Sefia and Archer's adventure continues as Archer searches for a way to combat his nightmares of his time with the impressors and Sefia becomes more and more consumed by her study of the Book"--